Morning Musume’s 12th Album Titled “12 Kakusan Kibou!”

3 08 2011

The title for Morning Musume’s 12th album has been revealed to be 12 Kakusan Kibou! (Eng: 12 Spread Hope!).

At first glance I really like how the title sounds since it has an inspirational sound to it and while it might not follow the theme of out-of-the-ordinary titles with puns that we are used to seeing like 10 MY ME, it is still a great title for the release since it seems like a nice message to everyone in Japan (although the “12” sounds a bit out of place).

We haven’t seen many references to what we can expect to see from this album so for now we don’t know what to expect, but they have had impressive themes for their past releases, like the edgier and more youthful sound in 10 MY ME or the fantasy themed Fantasy! Juuichi so I am really looking forward to finding out what kind of outfits or songs this album could have since the title doesn’t give us that many hints.

We still have to wait for an official confirmation from H!P about the title, but for now the title sounds pretty good due to its inspirational meaning, although hopefully the outfits or theme of the album fit the meaning a bit more.

The release date is set for 10/12.

Sony Music Shop

EDIT: It seems that there is a pun in the title:

12 = じゅうに = じゆうに = 自由に
(12) 拡散希望! = 自由に拡散希望!

12=Juuni=Jiyuuni= Jiyuu ni
(12) Kakusan Kibou = Jyuu ni Kakusan Kibou

It seems that the twelve (Juuni) can be read as Jiyuu ni (freely), making the title Jiyuu ni Kakusan Kibou! or in other words Spread Hope Freely!, which continues the long and interesting trend of creative puns in album titles.

Thanks to Celedam @ Jplop for the explanation, and to lovemusic for posting the Kanji!


Actions

Information

17 responses

3 08 2011
Tae

Riho at audition result announcement: I aim for center position!

3 08 2011
LalaLove

That might need a bit more explanation. What do you mean by that? Did Riho say that?

3 08 2011
Ayuchii

She actually did say that when the 9th generation members were announced at H!P 2011 Winter Concert xD
I think he’s referring to her saying because of the image in the post xD

3 08 2011
LalaLove

Oh. Okay. That actually kind of makes me like her a little less honestly. It’s kind of tacky (in my opinion) to just say something like, “I’m going to be the best out of everyone,” at least the way she said/implied it by “being center” that would mean she was a fan favorite, a management favorite… all and all… everyone’s favorite over everyone else.
I know that my opinion doesn’t count for much. But she might be my least favorite Kyuukie. Making her (for me) the least likeable member of Momusu as a whole. I REALLY don’t think she deserves all the promotion she’s gotten, simply put, Mizuki has a better voice, Zukki is more charming, and Eripon has progressed more since starting. Riho doesn’t have much to show other than what comes naturally. With that in mind, she might start to feel behind, or stop growing altogether, like Reina, who (I feel) barely tries vocally just because she’s “Reina.” Because of being an early favorite, Reina stopped growing, stopped getting better (even though she could be better, just because she didn’t have to try. I really wish UFA would push the other members too. Tsunku is prepping Riho to be Reina. Riho’s dancing I’ll admit is incredible, but that’s not to say that the other kyuukies aren’t capable of the very same steps and maneuvering. They could learn a dance just as well as Riho. Plus, out of all of their voices, I feel that the order goes Mizuki(1), Zukki/Riho(2), and Erina(3). Considering Fukuhime having acquired fans from being an EGG on a similar (yet nowhere near as extensive) note as Mikitty, Zukki’s adorable personality and immediate charm, and Eripons “I’ll do my best attitude” and rapid improvement, I just don’t see why Riho was UFAs top pick. To me, she seems cold and almost fake. Like she really only wants to be famous. And I know a lot of it is her promotion, but also pictures on blogs, her smug smile, and her general air in concerts (I’ve watched some clips of the upcoming Fantasy DX New Genesis ~ Welcome 9th Generation Members Concert).
Sorry, this sorta turned into a rant! I by no means hate Riho, I just REALLY don’t get it. To me she is just really unappealing.

3 08 2011
Candy

I agree with you, I don’t hate riho, but honestly, she’s my least favorite kyuukie and my least favorite member. I don’t like her being pushed forward even though it’s not her fault. Seeing her on covers in front of all of the other kyuukies is bad enough. Seeing her in front with ai and reina where gaki and aika should be while everyone else is in the back is even worse. Seeing her IN FRONT of Ai, the LEADER, is horrific. I also don’t like her “I’m the best” attitude because it makes her seem arrogant. I admit, the girl can dance like I don’t know what! But personally, I think some of the other kyuukies have better singing than her. You noticed her smug smile’s too? She should just smile naturally like on the maji desu ska covers. Her expression on the only you covers
is just so smug, it annoys me. Riho won everyone over during the auditions because of her talent. But for me, I don’t pick my favorites because of talent because there’s just so much than being the best. Other than she’s talented, I don’t see any appeal in riho either. Sorry riho fans, you see something in her that I don’t… At least UFA is successful in making her popular. In the solo versions of the songs on YouTube, riho’s video’s have more views than any other member, even Ai.

3 08 2011
LalaLove

Thank you!! I’m so glad you get it!! I’m REALLY glad I;m not the only one who noticed her smile!
She should in no way be put ahead of Ai or any of the her seniors! Aika and Gaki should FOR SURE be up in the front! They’ve been in Morning Musume for (at least 4) years! Riho has spent a few months in a group that has senselessly fluffed her ego. For god’s sake, she’s 12, and Nowhere near as talented as Ai kago or Maki Goto, so all of this attention is completely ridiculous!
I really wish UFA would use thier talent in “making popularity” to get the other kyuukies’ names out there, you know?
Anyway, I’m SO glad you get it!! I agree with you 100%

3 08 2011
Amanda

I absolutely could not agree more! I have actually never posted a comment on this site although I check the site for updates at 2-3 times a day.

Everything you said about Riho and Reina is like exactly how I feel.

And for those reasons, Riho has always been my least favorite 9th gen and Reina has always been my least favorite of the older members.

There was always something about Reina that I’ve never liked and I find that I’m seeing those same qualities with Riho as well.

Riho is basically the next Reina, unfortunately.

And there always have and always will be other members in the group who are more talented than both of them.

3 08 2011
LalaLove

Right? I’m so glad! I really wish that she didn’t just have immediate fame, so she’d be more motivated to try, but hey, at least the other 3 will continue to improve, right?

3 08 2011
Amanda

Yep, the other 3 of the 9th gen will surely continue to improve :) Erina is my favorite of the 9th gen and she has come a long way since her debut :)

3 08 2011
LalaLove

Right!? Erina is SO cute! I love her little smile! She’s such a hard worker too! That sort of improvement in that little time is AMAZING!! <3

4 08 2011
Ilene

I think you have very good points for your opinion, and everyone is entitled to their opinion.
But I feel opposite because Reina and Riho are my favorites along with Ai XD
And Erina is my least favorite and I’m not THAT big of a Zukki fan either, but I do like her more now than when she first joined.

3 08 2011
ichigo3lemon

I am curious what the album will be like too. I can’t help but be a bit excited this is supposed to be released on my B-day :P

3 08 2011
Why_even_bother

I’m pretty sure people disliking riho for such mundane assumptions/reasons are all just jealous of her.

3 08 2011
LalaLove

I wouldn’t assume that…

3 08 2011
Amanda

I never said that I dislike Riho. I just said that she is my least favorite of the 9th gen. And I’m not jealous of her either.

I’m just sick of the people who only promote certain idols because they’re popular, regardless of their level of talent. And all the others who aren’t considered “popular” are pretty much overlooked for years. It has happened in so many of the H!P groups, not just Morning Musume.

3 08 2011
LalaLove

Agreed

4 08 2011
Candy

Exactly!

Leave a Reply

