H!P Releases March 17

18 03 2010

3 releases today, Morning Musume’s 10th album and a DVD with all of the PVs for Shugo Chara related groups:

Morning Musume – 10 My Me: Morning Musume’s 10th album which debuted on the Oricon at #7. Here is the tracklist:

1. Moonlight night ~Tsukiyo no Ban da yo~
2. Kimagure Princess
3. Genki Pikappika!
4. Namidacchi
5. Onna ga Medatte Naze Ikenai
6. Ookii Hitomi
7. Ano Hi ni Modoritai
8. Nanchatte Renai
9. Osaka Oshiinen
10. Loving you forever
11. Shouganai Yume Oibito
12. Ame no Furanai Hoshi de wa Aisenai Darou? (Chinese Ver.)

As you can tell there are 12 tracks which consist of 4 single tracks that were already released and 8 new songs. Since the CD is made up of a lot of new tracks, and because I’m going to review the album later I will only choose my favorite 3 tracks and review them, so first:

Morning Musume – Namidacchi (Preview)

My absolute favorite from the album would have to be Namidacchi simply because of the great ballad and upbeat sound mixed together which make for a very unique song. The chorus and the bridge of the song are upbeat while the rest of the song seems to be made up of ballad lines divided among the members.

The bridge is basically rapping mixed in with a spoken part done by Niigaki, and I have to admit that it adds to the feeling of the song well. Overall this song is definitely among the many I listen to in the morning since it just brightens up my day.

Morning Musume – Ooki Hitomi (Preview)

The solo song for the 6th generation consisting of Kamei Eri, Michishige Sayumi and Tanaka Reina, which is somewhat of an electronic ballad since the intro, and most of the instrumental, is made up of heavy beats. The song is a powerful ballad with a catchy beat and great vocals.

Sayu is the only one who gets her voice “digitized” (hard to explain the effect but if you listen to Perfume then it won’t seem that different), and for the most part it adds a unique sound to the song and even though it seems that she doesn’t get any solo lines withotu that effect she does get a few lines here and there and during the chorus that are 100% Sayu.

Kamei and Reina do an incredibly good job singing their lines, and I especially love Kamei’s last solo line. This song is also among my favorites because of its power and unique beats mixed with the great vocals.

Morning Musume – Moonlight night ~Tsukiyo no Ban da yo~ (Preview)

Videos uploaded by: SprinklebunsKoharu

I have no idea what the “Electroconvulsive Therapy Part 1” intro was about but it added a unique twist to the already upbeat and random song. Everybody does an incredibly good job singing and the instrumental adds a bit of mystery to the upbeat song, especially during the start of the bridge of the song.

It’s one of the few songs which you find yourself humming to during the entire day since the beat is simply among the most catchy I have heard from this album.

Overall the entire album is easily one of their best in years since all of the tracks have something unique and catchy about them. The combination of more techno driven instrumentals with more unique sounds and vocals make for a well made album.

Hopefully fans get a chance to buy this album in some way to support the group (either online in CD form or through download at Japanfiles) since it is a great album that is worth a listen.

Shugo Chara! Clips ♪ Best: a PV compilation which features all of the PVs for Shugo Chara Egg! and Guardians 4, along with the PV for Buono’s Kokoro no Tamago. As a bonus the Guardians 4 release event is included on the DVD as well with special guests Buono! and Shugo Chara Egg!

For the most part the DVD is a great way to have all of the Shugo Chara related PVs, and while the only new video on the DVD is the release event it does make for a great addition to any fans collection.

The only video that is new from the DVD is the new version of Arigatou ~Ookiku Kansha!~:

Guardians 4, Shugo Chara Egg!, Buono – Arigatou ~Ookiku Kansha!~ (Live)

Video uploaded by: noridora11

This is the first performance I have seen with Tanabe Nanami, so I was interested to see how well she performed, and I’m glad to say that she did great although you could tell that all of the members of Shugo Chara Egg were a bit nervous, especially when next to Buono since Momo, Miyabi and Airi are among the most comfortable on stage, and even though I would have liked for them to speak up more I’m glad that Momo gave Nanami-chan a chance to talk (Momo’s reaction to her reply was really cute).

The song doesn’t have any choreography so most of the video is just all of the members standing in a line (from left to right: Shugo Chara Egg!, Guardians 4, and Buono!). The performance was fun to watch since we got a chance to see the members improvising moves.

The lines are split up evenly and they follow a regular pattern: Mitsui->Fukumura->Sugaya->Tanabe->Kumai->Saho->Nakajima->Maeda->Buono! member (Momoko, Miyabi then Airi)->All. It seems that Buono! members got better lines since they all sang about 2-3 lines after everyone had gone, which actually turned out pretty well since they all know how to sing well.

The performance overall was a great one since everyone got a chance to stand out and while there was no choreography the music and the cute improvised moves of the girls managed to liven up the performance.

Overall I definitely recommend this DVD to all Guardians 4, Shugo Chara Egg!, and Buono fans since it is basically a collection of all of their PVs (Buono only gets one PV but they already released a DVD collection of their own).

The next release date is set for 3/24 with the Hello! Project BEST SHOT PB featuring Tsugunaga Momoko, Sugaya Risako, Yajima Maimi, Suzuki Airi and Mano Erina.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: